Neanderthals

by Ghani Kunto

Twelve years ago I visited the Royal Ontario Museum.  There was a display titled “History of Communication Technology.”  A number of elementary students were looking at a typewriter.  Just seeing a typewriter there was concerning.  I remembered having had to practice speed typing on a typewriter during grade 7 or 8.  And I also realize that to this day, there are still civil servants in Indonesia who are working in offices that offer no other typing device than a typewriter.

The typewriter sat there, just one room away from flintlocks and armors from the Middle Ages.

Should I too be displayed there as a remnant from a bygone era?

Would the things I teach my child become absolute even faster?

Even today, I still remember those children enamoured by the typewriter, pounding away at the keyboards, saying, “Cool! Where’s the screen?”

